Location: Marietta GA USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: English and Reading
Subjects: Writing, Literature, Journalism, Grammar, Basic English

Caroline L. of Marietta GA USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Caroline L.
Gender: Female   Age: 26-30
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I graduated from The University of Cincinnati with bachelors degree with high honors in English Literature and a certificate in Professional Writing and Editing. I was named Outstanding Senior by my department and carried a 3.9875 GPA. I was the editor-in-chief of my college newspaper, and won multiple awards in my university's annual writing contest.

I began tutoring at-risk elementary students in reading when I was a teenager, and one of my student's home room teachers told me that she credited the great strides he had made in his language art skills to my one-on-one support.

During college, I also tutored an Indian immigrant student in a 400-level composition course, and helped her learn to correct common ESL problems by teaching her to hear her words as she actually wrote them, not as she heard them in her mind.

I find tutoring challenging, but exciting. I love helping students grasp a new concept with which they had previously struggled, and I am not afraid to try new methods to help my students reach such break-through moments.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Pre-K / Kindergarten, Elementary, High School, College
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $30.00 to $60.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 1-2 years
Students Tutored: Less than 10
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Bachelors
Major: English
School: The University of Cincinnati
Teacher Certification: No