Location: San Bruno CA USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: English and Reading
Subjects: Basic English, ESL: English as a Second Language, Grammar, Literature, Phonics, Reading, Reading Comprehension, Writing

Charlene d. of San Bruno CA USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Charlene d.
Gender: Female   Age: 26-30
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

As a full-time Humanities (English and Social Science)teacher at a local Bay Area High School and a part-time tutor, I have and have had experience with a diverse range of students in regard to skill-level, age, and grade as well as linguistic, cultural,and socio-economic status. I have had experience and success working with students with special needs as well as language learners. I have a strong subject matter expertise in English/ Language Arts, possessing a BA in English from UC Berkeley as well as a strong foundation of educational principles and practices with a teaching credential in Social Science and English as well as a Masters degree in Education from UC Berkeley. I am patient, creative, hard-working, and enthusiastic. I find my greatest strengths as a tutor and teacher come in being able to build a rapport with students, identify strengths and areas needing improvement, and use traditional and creative methods of teaching to help students learn. As a classroom teacher I am comfortable and effective working with large groups of students, but find I am most successful working with them one-on-one and prefer tutoring students individually so that I can tailor my teaching/tutoring style to their needs, learning style, and work habits. I am also happy to begin a tutoring session by having a detailed discussion with parents or students about what their learning needs and goals are and collaborating with them on a plan of how to achieve these goals. I am also able to speak to students' teachers regarding the students academic performance, needs, or curriculum if this is necessary or desired by the student/parent in order to help them succeed. I am more than happy to provide a resume and additional information about my tutoring practice if you are interested in setting up tutoring.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Elementary, Junior High School, High School, College
Days Available: Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $25.00 to $40.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 3-5 years
Students Tutored: More than 50
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Masters
Major: Education
School: UC Berkeley
Teacher Certification: Yes, Certified as a Teacher