Location: Brooklyn NY USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: English and Reading
Subjects: Basic English, ESL: English as a Second Language, Grammar, Journalism, Literature, Phonics, Reading, Reading Comprehension, Writing

Michelle K. of Brooklyn NY USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Michelle K.
Gender: Female   Age: 26-30
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I make strong connections with all of my students and pay close attention to their specific level of reading and writing skills. Once I've established what a student most needs to focus on in order to excel, I tailor writing and reading exercises to improve his or her weak areas and use materials that match his or her interests.

I've worked with gifted children who were reading Shakespeare at age six, and I've also tutored children who don't like to read at all. I tutored a twelve-year-old girl with dyslexia and found the Orton-Gillingham method very helpful. In her case I had her keep her finger on the page to track her words. We also practiced reading aloud so that she could figure out when she confused her letters. I'm happy to say that she made a lot of progress and became a more confident reader.

As a tutor, and a person, I'm friendly and patient, funny and sweet. I'm also very intelligent and know what I'm talking about when it comes to reading and writing.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Pre-K / Kindergarten, Elementary, Junior High School, High School, College
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $20.00 to $40.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 3-5 years
Students Tutored: 10-25 students
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Masters
Major: English
School: Columbia University
Awards I published an article in Ms. magazine, a short story in New York Illustrated, and two poems in two separate books of collected poetry.

I also received an A on my Master's thesis at Columbia University.
Teacher Certification: No