Location: San Francisco CA USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: Computer
Subjects: Computer Basics, Internet, Macintosh, Microsoft Office

Mr Callum I. of San Francisco CA USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Mr Callum I.
Gender: Male   Age: 22-25
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I have been a tutor for eighteen months, having spent the last three semesters of college working with a mix of middle school and college students. The approach I take into tutoring changes greatly based on the individual student and subject. For some, the best session consists simply in co-reading a piece of work prepared by the student, then critically engaging with, and improving upon, the argumentation and grammar of the piece. Other students have required more intensive approaches, including going one-by-one through homework problem-sets, writing and reviewing sentence structure on a sentence-by-sentence basis or creating entirely new lessons to review history and science concepts.
In short, the mentality of the student, the relationship established between the student and myself and the particular subject being cover all have to be taken as vital factors when designing and conducting a lesson.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Elementary, High School, College
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $15.00 to $25.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 1-2 years
Students Tutored: 10-25 students
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Bachelors
Major: Political Science, Physics
School: Oberlin College
Awards Junior and Senior Honors in Political Science.
Fellowship recipient in American politics and government.
Coluccio Salutati Award finalist, Syracuse University.
Graduated from high school with distinction in math, history and english.
Teacher Certification: No