Location: Alexandria VA USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: English and Reading
Subjects: Basic English, ESL: English as a Second Language, Grammar, Literature, Reading, Reading Comprehension, Writing

Ms Laura T. of Alexandria VA USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Ms Laura T.
Gender: Female   Age: 26-30
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I have a BA in English from Florida State University with a double minor in Philosophy and Psychology. I also have a Master of Fine Arts in creative writing, with a concentration in fiction which I received from George Mason University. I have had a great deal of experience teaching and tutoring in the past five years. While in graduate school I worked as a teaching assistant for the GMU Writing Center. I worked with a wide variety of students, many of who were ESL. While in graduate school I also worked at Kumon learning center where I tutored as many as six students at a time in reading and vocabulary. After graduating, I taught in a summer enrichment reading program called the Institute of Reading Development. While working for IRD I solely taught 10 to 12 classes a week, made up of 20 to 40 students. The classes ranging in ages from K-12.

Currently, I am privately in-home tutoring or online tutoring. I specialize in SAT prep (vocab and writing) and in grammar, reading comprehension, essay writing and study skills. I have also worked with students who are ADD or ESL in the past.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: High School, College, Graduate
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $45.00 to $65.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 3-5 years
Students Tutored: 10-25 students
Special/Focus Groups: Learning Disabilities
Educational Level: Masters
Major: English/Creative Writing
School: FSU/GMU
Teacher Certification: No