International Tutor outside USA

Location: Beaconsfield Bucks United Kingdom

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: Foreign Language
Subjects: French

Miss Laurene D. of Beaconsfield Bucks United Kingdom Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Miss Laurene D.
Gender: Female   Age: 22-25
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I am a 25 years old French MA student from the National Film and Television School in Beaconsfield. I have a Brevet des Colleges (end of junior high school degree) Baccalaureat (equivalent to English A-levels) specialized in Economy, a French BA in Communication Art from the EFAP (Ecole Francaise des Attaches de Presse) school and an American BA in Communication Art from the NYIT (New York Institute of Technologies).

When I was in France I was helping a 7 years old girl with her homeworks twice a week for 2 years and I was teaching a 10 years old boy French and English once a week for a year.
I also helped my two little brothers with their homework whenever they needed (especially in Literature, History and in English which were my favourite subjects.

My approch to Tutoring depends on the age of the tutee and on the expectation of the parents. With young children I use a lot of games to make them learn while having fun. With older students the work required is more serious however I always try to catch their attention to make them want to learn. I am usually a friendly tutor but I can also be strict when I feel it is needed.

I arrived in England a year ago to study at the National Film and Television School. I currently live in Beaconsfield and my studies allow me a lot of free time that I would like to use to teach French to kids. I am the second born child of a four children family and have been babysitting my two brothers during most of their childhood. When I was 16 I started babysitting children aged from 2 to 12. During my University studies I tutored 2 children.

I have always wanted to find a career somehow connected to children, after considering being a teacher, being a pediatrician... I have finally decided to become a TV Producer specialized in children TV because this kind of career would give opportunities to make children dreams come true. That's why I came to the National Film and Television School.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Pre-K / Kindergarten, Elementary, Junior High School, High School
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $10.00 to $20.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 1-2 years
Students Tutored: Less than 10
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Masters
Major: TV Production
School: National Film and Television School
Awards For the Brevet des Colleges degree my grade in French was 32/40 and 15/20 for the Baccalaureat.
Teacher Certification: No