Location: River Vale NJ USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: English and Reading
Subjects: Phonics, Reading, Reading Comprehension

Nancy W. of River Vale NJ USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Nancy W.
Gender: Female   Age: 51-65
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I am a certified Reading Recovery teacher and as such follow thier program which is highly effective. It works from students strenghts. THere is an initial assessment to see where the student is and what they already know. The lesson is based on the needs of the particular student. It is a reading/writing session since they go hand in hand. I teach various reading strategies. Phonics is only ONE strategy at the point of difficulty. There are many other strategies. The lesson is approximately 45 minutes and is great for Kinders and grade 1 students who either need support or want to jump ahead. It also will work for second grade students.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Pre-K / Kindergarten, Elementary
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $70.00 to $80.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: More than 10 years
Students Tutored: 10-25 students
Special/Focus Groups: Home Schooling,Learning Disabilities,Remedial
Educational Level: Masters
Major: Early Childhood Education
School: Queens College
Awards In addition to my Reading Recovery Certification, I have taught grades K, 1 and 2 in New York City for 15 years. I now serve as the schools Literacy Coach and do professional development for the teachers as well as working 1:1 with lower grade students.
Teacher Certification: No