Miss Megan S. of thousand oaks CA USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Miss Megan S.
Gender: Female   Age: 26-30
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I am a full-time tutor. I graduated from Pepperdine University with a Bachelor's in Psychology in 2008. I was pre-med for the first two years of my college career, but switched gears after I took a job working with children with autism. As a result, I have a strong science and math background as well as a thorough understanding of how children learn. I also took a four-semester long classic literature course sequence, so I have a thorough understanding of literature, philosophy, writing, and history. I have been tutoring in multiple subjects for the past 8 years. Prior to starting my own tutoring business, I was a behavioral therapist, research intern, volunteer teacher's aide, camp counselor, and nanny. In 2005 and 2006, I worked on reading and phonics skills at a low-income preschool in Santa Monica. I was also a tutor for other larger companies before deciding to branch out and provide more personalized service to local families.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Pre-K / Kindergarten, Elementary, High School, College
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $50.00 to $55.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 6-10 years
Students Tutored: More than 50
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Bachelors
Major: Psychology
School: Pepperdine University
Awards
Teacher Certification: No