Location: Cincinnati OH USA

Tutoring and Homework Help

Expertise: Math
Subjects: Algebra, Basic Math, Calculus, Geometry, Middle School Math

Melissa S. of Cincinnati OH USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Melissa S.
Gender: Female   Age: 31-40
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I approach teaching and tutoring as an exercise in problem solving. It requires assessment of the student's background, previously mastered skills, learning style, and engagement with the content. I believe that anyone can be taught anything; the key is developing an engaged, encouraged student with the fundamental knowledge to grasp the concepts at hand. Sometimes this requires remediation of specific skills. Other times, a student needs to understand the big picture so that the concepts can take root. Some students may require a visual demonstration while others master concepts best by diving head first into the content and asking questions when they arrive at a sticking point. I believe my flexibility and breadth of experiences and interests help me to connect to each student.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Middle School, High School, College, Graduate
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $20.00 to $50.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 1-2 years
Students Tutored: Less than 10
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Masters
Major: Economics
School: Washington University in St. Louis
Teacher Certification: No