Laura C. of Lauderdale by the Sea FL USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Laura C.
Gender: Female   Age: 31-40
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

Does Latin have you a little nervous? Whether you need to improve in a course, get a grasp on medical or legal terminology, unlock the Bible, or learn about Rome, I'll show you that Latin is nothing to fear! I rely on a BA and MA (both from great schools), years tutoring many students, experience teaching college Latin courses, and over 72 college credit hours in dead languages alone to assure you that I can help you succeed! My approach is to make Latin - a notoriously difficult subject - as easy as possible. I break everything down in a way the books don't, and show you that you can easily make sense of this language with a little work. We'll get results fast! Learning should be fun, inspiring, and stimulating. I genuinely love the stuff I study, and hope to convey that love to my students. I'm also probably the best SAT/GRE verbal teacher you'll ever have, and will be happy tailoring a course of study to your interests. I am available in person, over the phone, and online. Currently, I'm working on creating the best possible online educational experience for tutoring in a fully-equipped virtual classroom. Payment is safe and easy.

I believe that online tutoring is awesome for a few good reasons:

1)No Travel! You can work right from your computer at home on a project, ask questions, or get past problems as you go.

2)It's easy to get great, highly qualified help no matter what city or town you live in. Experienced and qualified help is crucial to learning Latin. It is not something you can just teach from a book.

3)Flexible lessons! You can break lessons down into a few shorter meetings, which maximizes your learning! Latin is time-intensive. This means that you should practice and work on memorizing its rules as you go, especially if you want keep things easy on yourself. Online, I can introduce key concepts and then meet with you again later to talk about exercises and translations. It's much easier for the student. Learn more efficiently, more quickly, and have more fun :)

Paper Writing Blues? Writing's not so scary!
I have years of experience with all types of writing assignments. I can help you research, organize your ideas, and write every sentence of your project. Need help with the bibliography, format, or all the official stuff? I have experience with ALL subjects! English Composition, Social Sciences like History and PoliSci, Journalism, and even Science reports! Working with years of experience with college students. No job to daunting, great, or small. I've worked in a center for Learning Disabilities. It's never too late! Together, we can do it!

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Elementary, Middle School, High School, College, Graduate
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $25.00 to $60.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 6-10 years
Students Tutored: More than 50
Special/Focus Groups: Gifted/Talented,Home Schooling,Physical Disabilities,Learning Disabilities,Remedial
Educational Level: Masters
Major: Interdisciplinary, Classics (Ancient Literature and Civilization), Medieval Studies
School: University of Florida, University of Toronto
Awards Graduated from University of Florida with Honors.
Master's Degree from a prestigious program in Medieval Studies.

Have passed Medieval Latin exam required by top and ivy universities for PhD in Medieval Studies.

HOWEVER, the best award is the appreciation of my students!
Teacher Certification: Yes, Certified as a Teacher