Ms Heather P. of Santa Monica CA USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Ms Heather P.
Gender: Female   Age: 26-30
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

All students, and subjects, require a different approach. As a tutor it's my job to make sure clients are able to navigate their way to understanding a particular mathematical concept, scoring higher on that final exam or fully understanding the rules of grammar. Whether a student needs homework assistance, rigorous test preparation or individual subject instruction, I strive to find an approach that is tailored to each client. I have tutored math from basic algebra to collegiate calculus, received my degree in Biology from UC Davis and am also well versed in multiple areas of writing, including proper essay and paper composition. Age, subject, schedule and goals are considered when devising a tutoring plan, but my ultimate aim is to make the challenges of learning more manageable and the process of learning more fun.

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Elementary, Middle School, High School, College
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $40.00 to $75.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 3-5 years
Students Tutored: 10-25 students
Special/Focus Groups:
Educational Level: Masters
Major: B.S. (Biology) B.A. (English) and M.F.A (Writing)
School: UC Davis (undergraduate) UCLA (gradaute)
Awards In addition to having been a Teaching Assistant while attending UCLA, I was also a writing instructor for the UCLA Summer Arts Camp. I am currently set to teach writing at UC Riverside's Extension program and while attending undergraduate school at UC Davis I worked both as a substitute teacher and as a peer tutor of Calculus. I am a former collegiate athlete and a certified personal trainer, via the UCLA PFT program.
Teacher Certification: No