Mr Anthony G. of East Lansing MI USA Tutor Profile

Tutor Personal Information

Name: Mr Anthony G.
Gender: Male   Age: 31-40
Tutoring Style and/or Experience

I am a PhD student in theoretical physics at the #1 program in nuclear physics in the world. I did my undergraduate work in mathematics. I hold MA junior high school and high school teaching licenses for physics and mathematics, both for grades 5 -12. I can help you with:

AP Calculus AB/BC
Math SAT II level I or level IIC
Most college mathematics courses
Any physics
MCAT, except for biological sciences
MTEL general exam, physics, chemistry, and mathematics

I have perfect scores on many math and science standardized exams, and have gotten 99th percentile scores on the verbal sections of the PSAT, SAT, GRE, and GMAT. I have edited college applications, graduate school applications, grant applications, and one successful Rhodes Scholarship application. I love physics, but sometimes I wish I had been a dramaturge, and I think I'd make a good one : ) You can be confident that I can help you with the subjects I've listed that are outside the sciences, and in fact I am an excellent one-stop-shopping resource for your own or your child's college application campaign.

I have taken a year of organic chemistry and gotten A's in biology, you can do better than me for collegiate study of those subjects but I'm more than capable of handling the places where they make guest-appearances in high school physical science courses.

I have tutored privately in the Wellesley area for two years, and in Michigan for one year. I have 6 years of college teaching and tutoring experience, and I am happy to share references with you.

I am good at helping students see fast gains on standardized exams scores, by tapping into what they have already learned and also inculcating confidence as well as an understanding of the game theory of the exam.

My style is to help you use the muscles you have already built in your academic training and general life before giving you new tools, with the goal being to help you discover that the thing in front of you is not all that scary after all. I want you to, as quickly as possible, no longer need my services nor those of any other tutor. I like sharing my strengths and seeing my students succeed.

Good luck, and please email any questions!

Tutoring Fee and Tutors Availability

Grades Tutored: Middle School, High School, College, Graduate
Days Available: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Contract Availability: Long Term or Open-Ended Tutoring Commitments.
Tutoring Rates: $45.00 to $80.00
Sliding Scale: This tutor offers a sliding scale for students with economic hardships.

Tutor Background

Time Spent Tutoring: 6-10 years
Students Tutored: More than 50
Special/Focus Groups: Gifted/Talented,Home Schooling,Physical Disabilities,Learning Disabilities,Remedial
Educational Level: Masters
Major: Math/Physics
School: UMN/MSU
Teacher Certification: No